HACK.d awards announced

Our esteemed judges have announced the following news upon completion of the d.school’s first hackathon, 48 hours of deep dives into design thinking with the purpose of bringing it to the wider world:

  • Two pictured teams, d.canvas (Dianna Kane, Josh Schwartzman, Poyi Chen, and Katie Johnson) and Overlay.d (Brantley Beaird, Yuri de Souza, Michael Revell, Roger Pincomb, Eric Tran, and Ivan Marcin), were selected overall winners and will each take away $1,000 in prizes from Quantcast and The Designer Fund;
  • d.mafia won both people’s choice and the judges’ “wayward thinker” awards;
  • Teams including Kale Chips, d.gallery, Lean Design Experience, and the Random Happy People will be taking part in a “test and ship day” with the staff at the d.school to continue prototyping and iterating on their ideas.

It’s an understatement to say that we were wowed by the enthusiasm and problem solving capabilities seen in our space over the weekend. Projects can be seen here. Their creators have been granted “founded member status” of the d.school HACK.d community and we could hardly be more grateful for their efforts to build and share.