Our team

“We couldn’t be more different, except for our shared values. And that makes working together enjoyable.”

Mathias Crawford

Mathias Crawford

Mathias was born in London, and grew up in Toronto (which was fine, but cold) and Canberra (which was less fine, but also less cold). After dabbling briefly in biotechnology, Mathias graduated Cum Laude from Harvard College with a degree in the History and Philosophy of Science.

A brief “career” as a paralegal took Mathias to New York City, where he realized that he had absolutely no interest in the law, but that he did like sitting around all day thinking about large, seemingly intractable problems. Cut to Palo Alto, California where Mathias spent 3 years as a Futurist at the Institute for the Future (IFTF)

It was at IFTF where Mathias discovered his passion for using games to help better understand and solve the problems he had previously only mused idly about. Working with Dr. Jane McGonigal, Mathias has helped design games for the Office of Naval Research, General Electric, the American Heart Association, and his cats. Mathias has written about design and futures thinking for GOOD magazine, and has spoken the Game Developers Conference and MIT’s Sandbox Summit.

Mathias is a Stanford Graduate Fellow in the Department of Communication, where he is studying a combination of human-computer interaction and architecture and design history. He sincerely loves watching cricket, and has recently taken up skateboarding. Jimmy Fallon follows him on twitter, and so can you at @mfcrawford.

Who’s here in 2016-2017

Our Broader Network

These superstars have been a part of our teaching teams, fellows, staff or founding team. They continue to do amazing work at Stanford and in the world.

  • Abby King
  • Adam French
  • Alex Kazaks
  • Alex Ko
  • Amal Aziz
  • Anja Svetina-Nabergoj
  • Anne Fletcher
  • Anne Gibbon
  • Barry Katz
  • Ben Grossman-Kahn
  • Brett Westervelt
  • Brian Witlin
  • Brit D'Arbeloff
  • Caitria O'Neill
  • Carly Geehr
  • Carol Winograd
  • Caroline O'Connor
  • Carr Wilkerson
  • Charlie Ellinger
  • Claudia Kotchka
  • Colter Leyes
  • Corey Ford
  • Corina Yen
  • Dan Bomze
  • Daniel Steinbock
  • David Klaus
  • Elizabeth Gerber
  • Emily Ma
  • Enrique Allen
  • Erica Estrada
  • Erika Basu
  • Erin Liman
  • Eugene Korsunskiy
  • Evelyn Huang
  • Fred Leichter
  • Gayle Curtis
  • Guido Kovalskys
  • James Monsees
  • Jason Chua
  • Jason Conroy
  • Jenny Stefanotti
  • Jim Ratcliffe
  • Joe Brown
  • Joel Sadler
  • Jofish Kaye
  • John Keefe
  • John Kembel
  • John Lilly
  • Jules Sherman
  • Kerry O’Connor
  • Kim Jacobson
  • Kim Saxe
  • Kris Woyzbun
  • Krista Donaldson
  • Larry Leifer
  • Lia Siebert
  • Lochlann Jain
  • Maryanna Rogers
  • Matt Haney
  • Maureen Caroll
  • Meg Lee
  • Mel Lee
  • Micah Lande
  • Michael Shanks
  • Mike Levinthal
  • Molly Wilson
  • Nat Woyzbun
  • Neema Moraveji
  • Nitzan Waisberg
  • Olga Trusova
  • Peter Rubin
  • Peter Sims
  • Purin Phanichphant
  • Rich Crandall
  • Sandy Speicher
  • Scott Klemmer
  • Susan Hosking-Ramos
  • Tammy Goodall
  • Taylor Cone
  • Uri Geva
  • Wendy Ju
  • Yusuke Miyashita