Our team

“We couldn’t be more different, except for our shared values. And that makes working together enjoyable.”

Bill Guttentag

Bill Guttentag


Bill Guttentag is a double Oscar-winning feature film and documentary writer-producer-director. He wrote and directed Knife Fight (IFC) starring Rob Lowe, Julie Bowen, Carrie-Ann Moss, and Jamie Chung, which premiered at the Tribeca Film festival, and was released in 2013. He also wrote and directed LIVE!,starring Eva Mendes and Andre Braugher, which was produced by Mosaic Media Group and distributed domestically by The Weinstein Company, and its international distribution included Lionsgate (2008).

His films include Nanking (THINKFilm/Fortissimo), a theatrical documentary which premiered at the 2007 Sundance Film Festival, and featured Woody Harrelson and Mariel Hemingway, and was shortlisted for an Oscar. He also directed Soundtrack for a Revolution (Wild Bunch) which had its international premiere at the 2009 Cannes Film Festival, and was also shortlisted for an Oscar.

In 2003 Bill Guttentag won an Academy Award for the documentary Twin Towers (Universal). He has also has received a second Oscar, three additional Oscar nominations, a Peabody Award, three Emmy Awards, two additional Emmy nominations, two Writers Guild Award nominations, a Producers Guild Award nomination, and a Robert Kennedy Journalism Award.

His films have been selected for the Sundance Film Festival three times, Tribeca four times, and have played at numerous American and international film festivals. They have also received a number of special screenings internationally and in the US, including at the Harvard Kennedy School and the White House.

He created and executive produced the NBC series Crime & Punishment, which ran for three seasons (2002-2004). The series was part of the Law & Order family of shows, and was created with Dick Wolf, who was also an executive producer. Over the series’ run, nearly every show was in the Nielsen top 20.

His novel Boulevard was published by Pegasus Books/W.W. Norton in 2011, and the French edition was published by Éditions Gallimard in 2013, where it was finalist for the Grand Prixde Littérature Policière (award for crime novels). He co-wrote the non-fiction book Masters of Disaster – The Ten Commandments of Damage Control (Palgrave/Macmillan, 2012), and the paperback was published in March 2014. He has also written nonfiction pieces, including for The Wall Street Journal and The Los Angeles Times.

Nanking won awards at a number of US and international film festivals (including Sundance and Hong Kong), and after its theatrical release, played on Cinemax. Guttentag was nominated for a WGA award for the film, and won a Peabody Award and Emmy Award. Nanking’s international release included China, where it became the highest grossing theatrical documentary in Chinese history.

Soundtrack for a Revolution had its US premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival and its international premiere at The Cannes Film Festival. The film was released theatrically by Area 23a, and later aired on PBS. Guttentag was nominated for WGA and Producer’s Guild awards, and a Humanitas Prize for the film, which also won awards at US and international film festivals.

He has directed films for HBO, ABC, CBS, Turner, and others. His films include The Cocaine War, an ABC News/Peter Jennings Reporting special on the drug war in South America, and You Don’t Have to Die, a film he made for HBO, for which he also won an Oscar.

Bill Guttentag has been a lecturer at the Stanford University Graduate School of Business since 2001.

He has shown his films and given lectures at many US and international universities including: the University of California, Berkeley; Yale; Harvard; the University of Pennsylvania; USC; Peking University; Fudan University; Kyoto University; and the Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts. Other screenings include the Museum of Modern Art in New York; The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; The Paley Center for Media; and the Brooklyn Academy of Music.

Who’s here in 2016-2017

Our Broader Network

These superstars have been a part of our teaching teams, fellows, staff or founding team. They continue to do amazing work at Stanford and in the world.

  • Abby King
  • Adam French
  • Alex Kazaks
  • Alex Ko
  • Amal Aziz
  • Anja Svetina-Nabergoj
  • Anne Fletcher
  • Anne Gibbon
  • Barry Katz
  • Ben Grossman-Kahn
  • Brett Westervelt
  • Brian Witlin
  • Brit D'Arbeloff
  • Caitria O'Neill
  • Carly Geehr
  • Carol Winograd
  • Caroline O'Connor
  • Carr Wilkerson
  • Charlie Ellinger
  • Claudia Kotchka
  • Colter Leyes
  • Corey Ford
  • Corina Yen
  • Dan Bomze
  • Daniel Steinbock
  • David Klaus
  • Elizabeth Gerber
  • Emily Ma
  • Enrique Allen
  • Erica Estrada
  • Erika Basu
  • Erin Liman
  • Eugene Korsunskiy
  • Evelyn Huang
  • Fred Leichter
  • Gayle Curtis
  • Guido Kovalskys
  • James Monsees
  • Jason Chua
  • Jason Conroy
  • Jenny Stefanotti
  • Jim Ratcliffe
  • Joe Brown
  • Joel Sadler
  • Jofish Kaye
  • John Keefe
  • John Kembel
  • John Lilly
  • Jules Sherman
  • Kerry O’Connor
  • Kim Jacobson
  • Kim Saxe
  • Kris Woyzbun
  • Krista Donaldson
  • Larry Leifer
  • Lia Siebert
  • Lochlann Jain
  • Maryanna Rogers
  • Matt Haney
  • Maureen Caroll
  • Meg Lee
  • Mel Lee
  • Micah Lande
  • Michael Shanks
  • Mike Levinthal
  • Molly Wilson
  • Nat Woyzbun
  • Neema Moraveji
  • Nitzan Waisberg
  • Olga Trusova
  • Peter Rubin
  • Peter Sims
  • Purin Phanichphant
  • Rich Crandall
  • Sandy Speicher
  • Scott Klemmer
  • Susan Hosking-Ramos
  • Tammy Goodall
  • Taylor Cone
  • Uri Geva
  • Wendy Ju
  • Yusuke Miyashita